Lessons from Google

It was a nice experience visiting Google HQ in Silicon Valley. I went there with ASES Stanford Summit committee and participants last April. Another writing about this trip can be checked here (but it’s in Bahasa). Visiting Googleplex was one of the best life experience for me.
Awesome working environment for awesome people making awesome works πŸ™‚ I went into the main campus (filled with genius engineers) and listened some stories from Asian Google employees. First, they told us about Google’s “9 Notions of Innovation”:
  1. Innovation, not instant perfection
  2. Share everything you can
  3. You’re brilliant, we’re hiring
  4. A license to pursue dreams
  5. Ideas come from everywhere
  6. Don’t politic – use data
  7. Creativity loves restraint
  8. Worry about usage and users, not money
  9. Great just isn’t good enough
Well, those are what I wrote at Google HQ. You may have heard about this “9 Notions of Innovation From Google” from its VP, Marissa Mayer. The ninth notion may look different with what Mayer had told back in 2006 (9. Don’t kill projects, morph them). But anyway, I’m sharing what I’ve heard from some Asian Google employees πŸ™‚ I really like the way Google encourage their employees to innovate and be creative no matter in which department they are.
Another interesting part from these Google guys is, they mentioned about “10 Things We Know To Be True”:
  1. Focus on the user & all else will follow
  2. It’s best to do one thing really, really well
  3. Fast is better than slow
  4. Democracy on the web works
  5. You need an answer away from your desk
  6. You can make money without doing evil
  7. There’s always more information out there
  8. The need for information crosses borders
  9. You can be serious without a suit
  10. Great just isn’t good enough
Looking at the last point of “ten things”, I think the 9th notion of innovation above is supposed to be what Marissa Mayer said before (maybe I missed that part from the Asian guys :p). Nevermind. What am I thinking of right now is the 2nd point of “ten things” : It’s best to do one thing really, really well. If you have noticed Google’s products beside its core function as search engine, you may ask “Why is it one thing really well?”. From my perspective, I see they’re trying to reach the customers from another form of services (Gmail, Google Maps, etc). But they still do one thing really well with their search engine. With a consistency from this field, they gave a shot to launch other products, which also have better search features. And, they keep on improving, of course.
Considering the statement to what am I experiencing in life will direct me to a “search” phase. There are way too many choices and opportunities in life so we have to make decisions everyday. In the end, I have to make a choice. We all have to. It’s better to do one thing really, really well rather than be the jack of all trades. I’ve been in a deep confusion lately to decide what’s best for me. I’ll figure it out soon and hope we all can make our best decision. Remember (and I am reminding myself), it’s important to choose what role you’re gonna play in this world πŸ˜€
4 responses to “Lessons from Google

  1. Wow i envy your taking the trip there, so many people like myself and investors would love to take a look at what it’s like inside there πŸ™‚ take it they didn’t allow people to take pictures inside?

Leave a Reply

