Life in Japan : Sixth Week (Part. I)

Hello readers, I haven’t updated my blog for so long. And the story I will share here had happened a long time ago *around July, and it’s already November now, eh?

My life in Japan was getting more exciting as I could explore some places by myself by attending events and meeting friends. On Saturday, I attended Fahima (Forum Silaturahim Muslimah) event at SRIT (Sekolah Republik Indonesia Tokyo), in Meguro. I met some other Muslimah that I’ve known before from the bi-weekly Islamic Study in Okachimachi Mosque πŸ™‚

One of the Talkshow πŸ™‚

The first session was about health. First, we had Soda-san, a Japanese woman who is married to an Indonesian man. She spoke Indonesian, surprisingly, though not that fluent. She told about the key of being healthy from Japanese people is by being discipline. As Muslim, we are supposed to be discipline, as we have our daily 5 prayers which should be done on time. Therefore, it should be easier for us to be discipline. To maintain a good health, we have to eat on time, discipline on brushing our teeth (after meals and before bed), and have a good composition on our food. The proportion of rice and vegetables is ideally 1 : 3. While in Indonesia, usually parents allow their children to eat junk food and forget vegetables. This is a truly bad habit. Another thing that differs Japanese and Indonesian is the daily walking habit. In Japan, as it is convenient to walk, people are used to walking and using public transportation from early age. On the contrary, private cars are among the most used transportation in Indonesia. If we walk, the risks from the polluted air are higher than that in Japan. The following speaker after Soda-san was a doctor, an Indonesian male doctor. He told us three types of health (sihat), ruhhiyat, jasadiyah, and nafsiyah.Β The main factors that affect health are nutrition, environment, lifestyle, psychology, and spiritual.

Cake Decor

The session on Fahima event continued with talkshow about Muslimah and family. There was a couple who became the speakers, the husband talked about time management, while the wife talked about household management (the point here is the communication between family members :)). There was also a cake decoration competition between PM (pengajian Muslimah) to celebrate Fahima’s anniversary.

Interior of the Mosque

After attending Fahima’s event, I went to Camii Mosque in Tokyo to buy Al-Qur’an with Japanese translation. I’ve made an appointment before to meet my high school mate, Radiztia, in that mosque. I felt Allah showed me how to reach Camii Mosque. When I was confused in the closest station from Camii Mosque, suddenly I met a woman with veil and I just gave Salaam to her and asked her about the mosque. I got the answer right away πŸ™‚ Having reached Camii Mosque, I immediately come inside the 1st floor, which is the Turkish Cultural Centre. I met a group of people who was studying Islam, and later on I found out that two of them were not Muslims, they were just interested in Islam and want to know more πŸ™‚ After they went home, I joined three Japanese Muslim women for a tour around the mosque. I didn’t understand much as the guide explained in Japanese :p Not long after that, my friend came and translated for me πŸ™‚ After that, we prayed Magrib together in the mosque. I prayed beside two French sisters who apparently were on holiday and they told me that they couldn’t find halal food beside fish. So, after praying and introducing each other, I and my friend decided to bring them to a halal restaurant in Shinjuku πŸ™‚ They were very happy! And so do we πŸ™‚ We had a very nice dinner together while chitchatting about France, Japan, Indonesia and everything!

French sisters and brother πŸ™‚

And the story of my sixth week in Japan still continues til the upcoming post! πŸ™‚ *I didn’t plan to write this in two parts.. But as I typed this story, it’s getting more and more exciting I can’t do it concisely in one post :p

Leave a Reply

