Get Inspired and Be Inspiring!

Assalamu’alaykum.

Alhamdulillaah. All praises to Allah. I am feeling so grateful for every blessings Allah gives. I got several chances to meet inspiring Muslim women (Muslimah) and was even asked by my fellow sisters in Islam to be the speaker in Muslimah events in my campus (this will be another story on the other post in shaa Allah). These opportunities have made me realize that I still got a long way to go to be the women in Jannah later in shaa Allah. Let me share Β stories about some inspiring Muslim women πŸ™‚

I met Mbak Ollie (Aulia Halimatussadiah) on December in Bandung. I invited her to speak at Inspiring Session by HMP ITB in my campus and she stayed at my place in Bandung the night before the event. I got the chance to chat longer with her, and learned a lot actually. She is very inspiring. She told me how she was before she is now. She started to make initiatives after she graduated from university. Now, we know her as writer of so many books (in several genre), the entrepreneur behind several start-ups, fashion designer of her own clothing line, and also community initiators πŸ™‚ Prior to her visit, she asked me to arrange an informal meeting with fellow Muslim students in Masjid Salman ITB because she wanted to share about Quran point of view on success. She quoted Al-Anfaal (8) : verse 42-46, and other verses during the informal sharing session. After that, we started the Q&A session with her, especially on writing and entrepreneurship.

*photo from Mbak Ollie's facebook

*photo from Mbak Ollie’s facebook

What I learned from her is that we can be anything we dreamed to be, and we don’t have to limit ourselves on making it happen πŸ™‚ For being an entrepreneur, it is really good if we can have mentors, or at least a mentor. We can ask for advice, and we can learn from them because they already have a lot more experiences than us, and we don’t have to make the same mistake. For being a writer, consistency is important. She allocated her morning to write something, everyday. I find this very hard for me, to write consistently everyday. But, I’m trying though, one of them is through this blog (thank you for reading!). Someday I want to be a writer too πŸ™‚ in shaa Allah.

Another chance to meet inspiring Muslimah is when I went to Muslimah Fest in Sabuga, Bandung. I attended the launching of “Hijab I’m in Love” book and album by Kak Oki Setiana Dewi. She’s an actress and a writer of several books (I really like her books), and now also a singer πŸ™‚ I’ve met her couple of years ago and had lunch with her and her Mom. And happened to get back in touch with her since July 2012. So, I figured out about the event from her message and she asked me to bring my friends too πŸ™‚ There were Kak Oki, Shindy (her sister), Meyda Sefira (another Muslimah actress), and Teh Ninih on the talkshow of the book launching. I really can see her burning spirit to spread Islam, especially about Hijab among Muslimah at that moment. She tries to bring many spiritual messages from Quran verses and hadith in her new book packed in light stories, colorful contents of the book and sweet words of her. Even now she also sings some songs about Hijab, Muslimah, and Islam. I am amazed with her spirit in Da’wah. Though I didn’t get a chance to chat much with her at that time, we continued chatting on the phone and hopefully get another chance to meet up someday soon πŸ™‚

They’re only two among many other inspiring Muslim women in this world. They have their own ways, and we are, too! So, sisters,, get inspired and be inspiring! πŸ™‚ Show Allah our shukr (grateful feeling) to Him through our actions. It’s our choice and let’s do it in our own way!

Wassalamu’alaykum.

Leave a Reply

