Book Review: Reclaim Your Heart

Since last year, I’ve seen some pictures quoting beautiful words about spirituality and relationships from a sister named Yasmin Mogahed. I was then starting to look for the source of these words and found some Islamic lectures on Youtube from the ustadha Yasmin Mogahed. I really enjoyed watching her talks on youtube and decided to figure out more through her website. Eventually I knew that she had written a book titled “Reclaim your Heart”. But I haven’t had a chance to buy it because it wasn’t available in my country yet. Until I figured out one of my friend has bought it from an online book store in Indonesia. I was planning to buy the book also from that store, but I didn’t know why it didn’t happen.

Last February, during my sister’s wedding event, I had my Singaporean coming as our guest with her Mom and brother. She attended Islamic lecture and Dhikr event at my house, and she was actually reading “Reclaim your Heart” book by Yasmin Mogahed. I told her that I was also planning to buy the book and really curious to read that. Then, wa yarzuqhu min haitsu laa yahtasib.. And He will provide him from (sources) he never could imagine. (At-Talaaq (65): 3) , she suddenly gave the book she was reading to me! I was like “No, it’s okay, you’re still reading, I’m gonna by it myself”, but she insisted. MashaAllah πŸ™‚ The beauty of having your sister in Islam. So there I was, having the book as a gift from my dear friend πŸ™‚

20140814-081056.jpg

I really enjoyed reading it, the words are just flowing in a beautiful manner yet easy to be understood! The book is divided into several themes, which our hearts felt, about love, hardships, attachments, etc. Actually it is a compilation of her online writings, in case you have followed her website. However, reading it through a 168-paged book makes it more interesting. She emphasized about the reality of the Dunya (worldly life) we face today, it may look imperfect as it is. But the actual struggle we face is on how we act and respond upon this reality. Analogical type of paragraph is used by her sometimes, to explain something so it become more obvious and understandable.

This worldly life, the dunya, is just like the ocean. And our hearts are the ships. We can use the ocean for our needs and as a means to get to our final destination. But the ocean is only that: a means. It is a means for seeking food of the sea. It is a means of travel. It is a means of seeking a higher purpose. But it is something which we only pass through, yet never think to remain in. Imagine what would happen if the ocean became our end — rather than just a means.

Eventually we would drown.

– page. 38, Reclaim Your Heart

I fell in love with this book in a flash as it is truly representing daily challenges which our hearts felt, and not forget to mention that there are chapters about Ummah, and also Poetry. Here are more excerpts about love and ummah (attached in the images):

20140814-081008.jpg

20140814-081015.jpg

Moreover, there are verses of the Qur’an or hadith and story of the Prophet SAW and his Companions enriching this book. Although it is written down by a sister, a Muslim women, I suggest men to take lessons through this book also πŸ™‚ My Singaporean sisterΒ did invite me to attend Ustadha Yasmin Mogahed’sΒ lecture when she was coming to Singapore but I couldn’t make it. Hopefully someday I can meet her and thank her directly for the lessons she gave through her lectures & book! πŸ™‚

Β 

Β 

One response to “Book Review: Reclaim Your Heart

Leave a Reply

